Florida Criminal Mischief Laws & Penalties
According to Florida statutes, the offense of criminal mischief is committed when you willfully and maliciously damage someone else’s property. It can be willful, negligent, mischievous or vengeful behavior that results in someone’s property being damaged or destroyed. The offense of criminal mischief also applies to acts of graffiti and vandalism.
The charge and potential penalty you face for a criminal mischief offense depends on the damage committed:
- If the damage is valued at less than $200, the charge you face is a 2nd degree misdemeanor punishable by 60 days in jail and $500 in fines.
- If the damage is between $200 and $1,000, the charge entered is a 1st degree misdemeanor which carries a potential sentence of up to 1 year in jail and $1,000 in fines.
- If the damage is valued at more than $1,000 you will face a 3rd degree felony charge and a potential penalty of up to 5 years in prison and fines reaching $5,000.
If you already have a criminal mischief conviction on your record, you could face an elevated charge of a 3rd degree felony. Felonies in the 3rd degree carry up to 5 years in prison and fines of up to $5,000.