As of June 1st, 2013 in Palm Beach County, the State Attorneys Office has set up a special first time offenders program for citizens arrested for DUI. The first offender DUI program may allow you to avoid a DUI conviction.
You may qualify for the program if the following is applicable to your case:
Many folks arrested for DUI (Driving Under the Influence) do not qualify for the first offender program for different reasons. Ultimately it’s the State Attorney’s decision as to who is allowed into the program. If you have been arrested for a serious traffic offense such as DUI you should never risk going into court unrepresented where you have no idea what may be offered to you to resolve your case and the implications of accepting a plea. The mistake a Pro Se person could make can have a lifetime of negative consequences.
At the Law Offices of Darren D. Shull we have represented numerous people who initially did not qualify for first offender program who were then accepted into the program after a thorough review of their case to determine the viability of the States case.
The Department of Motor Vehicles Revocation/Suspension Hearing Law has changed: Effective July 1st, 2013, you may now elect to waive the suspension hearing that may effectively eliminate the “HARD” suspension period of your license; meaning the 30 to 90 day period where you cannot drive at all for any reason after a 10 day grace period after your arrest, if your blood alcohol is over a .08 or you refused to blow. The six month to one year suspension however still applies where you will need a work permit to drive.
You must request a hearing for a “business purpose only” restricted driving privilege. That request waives the right to a formal or informal review hearing.
You must however also keep in mind this important change in the Law: Florida Statutes 322.2615(11) mandates that if a formal hearing is requested and the arresting officer or breath technician does not appear in your case the drivers license suspension is invalidated or lifted. These nuisances on whether to waive a hearing or have the hearing are best left to an attorney who practices DUI law and can advise you as to the proper course of action. You must make that decision to have a formal hearing or waive the hearing within the ten days after your arrest or that choice is waived! The Law Offices of Darren D. Shull can advise you as to why or why you should not elect a formal suspension hearing.
Being arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) criminal traffic charge in Jupiter, Florida is a very serious matter. Your attorney should have the experience to help you fight your DUI charges.
Over the past 25 years, DUI laws have changed dramatically in every state – with no exception to Florida. Florida law enforcement and prosecutors have cracked down on DUI cases in Palm Beach County and have aimed to strengthen and enforce stricter punishments in DUI cases.
An excerpt from the Department of Florida Highway and Safety Motor Vehicles:
Driving Under the Influence of Alcoholic Beverages, Chemical Substances or Controlled Substances (s. 316.193, F.S.):
Under Florida law, DUI is one offense, proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level .08 or above. The penalties upon conviction are the same regardless of the manner in which the offense is proven.
It’s upsetting and embarrassing to be arrested and you may feel overwhelmed at the moment about what to do next. Darren Shull can help you through this process. You must be aware of one very important matter and that is your driving privileges may be suspended as a result of this arrest. You have 10 days from the date of arrest to request a hearing from the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles before the suspension takes effect and you lose your ability to drive. Darren Shull can handle getting a work permit for you so you have time to make arrangements before any hard suspensions take effect.
You should retain legal counsel to help protect your driving record but also to advise and defend your rights against the criminal charge of DUI. It is likely that you are or will be swamped with other letters and brochures regarding your arrest from other lawyers, so please consider the following qualifications when making your important decision:
There is no charge for an initial consultation and office visit. Please feel free to call if you have any questions.
Due to a National Interstate Driver’s License Compact did you know that if you have a Florida Driver’s License and you are convicted of a DUI or its equivalent in another State, your Florida driver’s license will be suspended as well? Let me help guide you through this legal process and what you should do to restore your Florida driving privileges. The offices of Darren D. Shull, P.A. can will assist our clients with out of state DUI convictions.
The Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) starts the process to suspend your driver’s license immediately after you are charged with DUI. We will work to get your driving privileges restored by representing you in your DMV hearing.
To read more on Florida Law regarding DUIs please refer to the Department of Florida Highway and Safety Motor Vehicles
The Law Offices of Darren D. Shull, P.A. has extensive experience in DUI / Drunk Driving defenses serving clients throughout Palm Beach County – including Jupiter, Jupiter Farms, Abacoa, Tequesta, Juno Beach, Palm Beach Gardens, West Palm Beach and surrounding areas. The consequences to a client charged with DUI may include mandatory jail time for aggravating circumstances or repeat offenses, loss of Drivers license, increased insurance premiums or cancellation, potential loss of current or future employment, and loss or suspension of certain professional credentials where driving is involved. It is imperative that you hire an experienced criminal defense attorney in Jupiter to best defend your case. If you have been arrested for DUI please request a free consultation by contacting the Law Offices of Darren D. Shull, P.A. with two locations to serve you in Jupiter and West Palm Beach.
These issues are extremely time sensitive. Contact us immediately to receive a free initial consultation and begin working to protect your interests.
To obtain a driving permit for work purposes it may be necessary for you to enroll in DUI school and show proof of enrollment to the DMV to obtain the permit. If you are convicted of DUI you not only have to enroll but also have completed DUI school to get your work permit if your license is still under suspension. Here are a few area DUI schools:
Visit Metro DUI School Website
(this link does not constitute an endorsement of this program)
(this link does not constitute an endorsement of this program)
*Spanish and French language services are available.
Note, even if another driver is partially at fault in a fatal accident and if you are also partially at fault & impaired, you can be charged with DUI Manslaughter.